Friday Favorites 9-29-2017

Oh, honey!

Happy Friday, y’all! I don’t know about y’all, but I have been bombarded with homework and projects this week, so I will be hunched over my computer with plenty of coffee all weekend. If you’re stressing like me, take a minute to check out some great stories and smile a little!

 

1. The Outwitting Student

Reb Beatty, a college professor in Maryland, was embarrassingly outwitted by one of his students last week. Every semester Beatty allows his students to use a 3×5 “cheat sheet” full of whatever information they can fit for their accounting exams. He posted on his Facebook page that one student had taken advantage of a critical error in his syllabus. She brought in a cheat sheet, and it was 3×5…feet! Recognizing his own mistake, Beatty allowed the student to use her cheat sheet for the exam. Y’all, this cracks me up every time I read it! That young lady is going places!

 

2. Some Pretty Neat History

No automatic alt text available.

If you know anything about me, you know that I love Chick-fil-A and my alma mater UGA. When those two things come together, magic happens. I learned a very fun fact this week about my favorite place for nuggets and my favorite football town! The milkshakes that Chick-fil-A is famous for (hello, Cookies & Cream!) started in Athens! Chick-fil-A at Beechwood (notably the best and most spirited location in town) is home to the greatest milkshakes ever! In 2004, owner Shane Todd bought some blenders and mixed everything up! He was later contacted by Chick-fil-A CEO Dan Cathy, and the rest is history. Check out the location’s Facebook for more on this awesome story.

 

3. A Few Good (Young) Men

Image may contain: 6 people, people standing and outdoor

WWII veteran, Thomas Edward Hunter passed away at the age of 93 earlier this month. He had no family to serve as pallbearers for his funeral, so the Tiger Football Team at Winnfield Sr. High School stepped up and volunteered. Every time I look at this photo, I get teary-eyed. I am completely speechless at the selflessness of both the late Mr. Hunter and these young men.

 

4. A Daring Rescue

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, child and outdoor

photographer in Canada captured this sweet moment after a groom had jumped into a river to save a little boy who had fallen in. What an unforgettable wedding day!

 

5. Yes, another beatboxing video

 

Y’all, I just can’t get enough of these! This is so awesome, and these guys are soooo talented! Check it out!

 

 

I hope I was able to bring a little laughter to you all today! Enjoy the weekend, y’all!

Leave a Reply

